Discernment

Jackie & Bobby

PICEDITOR-SMH

Discernment is a pain in the butt. Let’s get that out of the way first.

I remember first learning that the word “discern” comes from the Latin “to set apart,” or even “to wrestle” with a decision, and boy would I agree. It’s still one of my least favorite words. Of course, I write regarding discerning one’s vocation, not whether or not I should put bacon on my sandwich (always put bacon on your sandwich).  To discern is to be considering two potential good options, and that’s not an easy, cut-and-dry decision.

The awful thing about discernment is how much energy is seems to take up. Emotional, spiritual, mental, even physical energy. I have many grey hairs already that I fondly refer to as my “discernment hairs.”

What does God want from me?”

“What is my vocation?”

“Why doesn’t He just TELL me what to do?”

Ah, been there…

View original post 499 more words

Leave a Reply

